top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnika Fuller

Not Goodbye, but See You Later

And the end is a comin'. You've paid thousands of dollars for this exciting adventure and holy moley it has indeed paid off. (Many of you have not mailed your checks to me, but it's fine, it's only a thirty percent interest rate.)


This second to last week has been full of memories and ended with a goodbye.


On Friday, staff and students went bowling at a definitely haunted mall to celebrate Angela and I. My kind of party.


I bowled with the chefs and the housekeeper. They speak little to no English, but they were a joy to bowl terribly with. We cheered each other anytime the ball hit the floor. I excelled at cheering, but not so much at the actual hitting pins down. For many of the students, it was the first time they have bowled, and yet, unsurprisingly, their natural ability to deal with any and all barriers also translates to bowling pins.


Kham celebrating her first throw of the ball

It was a very fun time that ended with a couple of students and Angela and I hanging out and talking into the night. Not only would this be the last Friday night we are all together, but I also saw my first ghost.


The night was dark. We were all sitting carefree around the wooden table. Conversation never idled, but our eyes often did. As we were talking about how we would describe our personalities, my eyes went past Yargar in introspection and I suddenly saw a black figure move through the darkness. My jaw dropped as I stared, looking for a sign that someone had sleepwalked into the wall. No lights were on, no one moved up the stairs and back towards the rooms. I looked around at the solid, no see through people. No one else seemed to have noticed the drop in temperature.


Other students have also experienced paranormal activity while here. One student was sitting at the sala one night and felt like someone was watching him. He turned to look at the school to see a blurry figure faced towards him. I have always wanted to see a ghost in the same way I liked the idea of trying a pepper the students from Myanmar eat frequently, sounds fun, but sends me running into the kitchen to make a rice bread sandwich.


Saturday was another celebration, this time in the form of food and songs. The students and training team went to a BBQ restaurant (not KC BBQ). It was delicious. Billy came to say goodbye and gave Angela and I a rose. He has been a wonderful boss and someone I came to look up to. He was instrumental in this internship being as wonderful as it was. It was a hard goodbye.


When we got back to the school, Hom asked Angela and I if we wanted to hangout at the sala. We said sure, and headed down to the dark place I had seen my first ghost.


We came to the path leading to the sala and found candles leading the way. We were led to the soccer field and candles spelling out "THX U" with the students sitting in a line. Angela and I were shocked. The students sang as we soaked it all in. Then one by one the students said thank you and other kind words. It was unnecessary, but so cherished and a lovely sentiment.



I owe this experience so much. But more, I owe the students and staff. The students have taught me I can find family even where my family is not. They have been kind, funny, and brilliant. They have supported me as I adapted to this new country. I am so incredibly grateful to them for being so open with their experiences and feelings. I have never met people like them before, their each individuals with unique perspectives and wonderful ways of sharing them. I would have to try exceptionally hard to forget each one of these magnificent people.



The staff has been so supportive as well. They have shown me the ropes, even when it has been inconvenient for them. Their advice has been articulately written down and welcomed. I have learned what it means to help communities as an outsider.


I cannot express how unbelievable this all has been. I am excited to see my family, but Thailand has been the best adventure of my thus far life.


Thank you for attending this presentation of what a wonderful internship looks like. EarthRights is an organization that is important for the world and I am lucky to have been a part of their story.


It has come to the end of the series. Please check under your seats for any left behind popcorn. You have come back time and time again, and while some of you did not spend enough money at the concession stand (looking at you, mom.) I am grateful you all care enough to pay for the tickets and attend the regular showings. If you had any problems with the showing, please take it up with ...


As the students all said,

It's not goodbye, it's see you later,

Annika


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page